Campgrounds and Picnic Areas Program: established in 1958 between the Federal Government\* and all provinces except Ontario and Quebec to provide improved tourist facilities, with the Federal Government sharing costs equally to a maximum of \$2,000,000; \$1,051,242 had been spent by 1965.

The Canada Department of Agriculture.—This Department is concerned with physical and economic research relative to the agricultural industry, grading and inspection, disease and pest control, soil and water conservation, marketing, farm credit and other related activities. Federal-provincial natural resources agreements administered by the Department, additional to certain PFRA and MMRA agreements, are as follows. Soils Survey: a cost-sharing program conducted co-operatively since 1935 with most of the provinces to classify soils according to their physical characteristics, to assess their usefulness for agriculture, and to publish the information in the form of maps and reports. A number of universities are actively involved in the program (see p. 450). Lime Assistance Program: an annual agreement applicable to British Columbia, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland, beginning in 1943, to reduce acidity of agricultural soils by application of limestone or other alkali material. Federal contributions have amounted to about \$18,354,000 since inception. Land Clearing and Bogland Reclamation: a joint federal-Newfoundland program to develop Newfoundland's extensive boglands and arable forest lands for crop and pasture use and for gardens. Since it began in 1953, the federal contribution has been \$1,425,000, matched by the province. This program is being carried forward under ARDA.

The Department also participates in the East Slope (Alberta) Watershed Research program, the Greater Winnipeg Floodway program, and the International Pembina River Engineering Board.†

The Department of Mines and Technical Surveys, the Atomic Energy Commission, the National Research Council and the Fisheries Research Board .- These departments and agencies, in co-operation with the Ontario Government, the federal Department of Fisheries, the University of Toronto, the United States National Science Foundation, and private sources, support the Great Lakes Institute in its comprehensive program of research on the Great Lakes fisheries problems and other relevant problems. The Institute, together with the international Great Lakes Fisheries Commission (relative to lamprey control), co-operates in work under an agreement made in 1960 between the Federal and Ontario Governments to fulfil the recommendations of the federal-provincial Great Lakes Fisheries Co-ordination Committee. The Federal Government conducts general fisheries research and lamprey research and control on Lake Superior, and economic and technological studies on all the Great Lakes. Ontario conducts general fisheries research on Lakes Huron, Erie and Ontario, collects data and does hydrographic work. A number of other federal, provincial and non-governmental agencies support the Institute in various ways. Co-ordination is achieved through the federal-provincial Committee for Ontario Fisheries.

The Department of Fisheries.—This Department is responsible for administration of the Fisheries Act which, by agreement with Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec, is applied by provincial administrations of these provinces. The Department of Fisheries is the federal body which, with the research and co-ordination assistance of the Great Lakes Fisheries Institute, fulfils the federal commitments under the federal-Ontario agreement of 1960.

The Department of Transport and the Department of National Health and Welfare.—These departments extend assistance in various forms to provincial and municipal governments for the study and abatement of air pollution. They have, in

<sup>•</sup> The Department of Labour Winter Works Program is also involved in this program.

<sup>†</sup> The Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources participates in the East Slope and Pembina River programs; the Departments of Transport and Forestry also participate in the East Slope program.